Is It Saturday, Yet?

Standard

It’s Thanksgiving week and there’s a ton of stuff going on. I just found out there’s no school Wednesday, and BTW, will I be bringing a birthday treat tomorrow for 20 kids? Gee, I guess so…

There’s also the holiday cards – notice I didn’t say Christmas, not because our social circle is so culturally diverse, but because there’s no way in Pagan Hades I can mail them out in two weeks –  the baking, the house decorating, and the being-of-good cheer. (Cheer expends about 40% of my energy. It’s why I have to eat constantly. I’m like a bird.)

I will now roll up in a tiny ball and wish it was Small Business Saturday: the day I can get all of my teacher, coach, babysitter, aunt & uncle, mail-carrier, and oops-I-forgot-about gifts in one swoop.

Last year, I shared some of my favorite small businesses right here on this very blog, and I’m about to do it again. I happen to know people…

Cattywampus in Wauwatosa:  No, it’s not the feline version of Krampus, it’s a clean, well-lighted place for inspiration and interesting gifts. Everything is the store is locally-sourced and frink full of charm.

cattywamp

Cattywampus – o little town of Tosa in the background

Serendipity Re-Design is great if you need a whole-house overhaul.

serendipity

Serendipity Re-Design, Janesville Road, Muskego

Or, just go there to see a friendly face. Seriously, they’re really nice people with one-of-a-kind stuff. (There’s a brass longhorn skull on my Christmas list. Just saying…)

 

Cream City Clay just opened in West Allis this year, and I am kvelling! Okay, so you don’t want to buy someone a “thing,” how about a class  at this cool pottery place? I know, right?!They have classes for date nights, girls’ night out, teens, AND if you know someone who’s into pottery, but doesn’t have the space, they offer monthly memberships. (Have you ever tried to gift-wrap a kiln?)

clayfun

Doesn’t this look FUN?!?

 

 

 

So don’t despair. Saturday is almost here, and you can visit each one of these happy places. Look for me there! (I’ll be the one with the bald patches.)

What’s your favorite small business? Comment and share with the class!

Here’s my amazon page, for all you biblio-folks.

 

Leave a Reply

